Four Winds Bermagui - Music In Nature


Four Winds has run many specific fundraising campaigns over the years and we are grateful to everyone who has contributed.

21st birthday campaign

Giving the gift of space and time. Time and again our visiting musicians tell us how important our unique site is to their creative practice.

A residency at Four Winds provides the perfect retreat for artists to come together in an inspiring natural environment to develop and share ideas, create, perform and perfect their performances and, importantly, inspire audiences and music lovers of all ages.

During 2020 and 2021, to support artists through the challenges of Covid-19 and bush-fire recovery, Four Winds has focussed on developing our highly successful Artist Residency Program – which provides a safe-haven for musicians to come together musically and develop creatively.

Our 21st Birthday campaign will fund 21 residencies over the next three years – seven residencies each year commencing in 2022.


The Windsong Pavilion is not only a fine concert venue but now houses a hand-made Japanese 7 ft concert grant piano by Shegiru Kawai. The campaign to purchase the piano was launched at the 2016 Easter Festival. We were overwhelmed by the positive response which raised the funds necessary during the course of the Festival. Thank you to all the following donors:


Key to Our Future Donors over $5,000

David and Ingrid Petts – in memory of Geraldine and Philip Vigors
Anonymous – 2

Key to Our Future Donors up to $5,000

The Ake Ake Fund
Janice Bate – in memory of Neilma
Peter Boughen – in memory of Christina Boughen
Louise Herron and Clark Butler
KEY 80
Evelyn and Ian Levy
Nick and Annette O’Neill
Frances Wood and Amanda Reed
Ken Robinson

Key to Our Future Donors up to $1,000

2016 Four Winds Board and ED August
B1 and B2
Karin Callaghan – in memory of Doreen Callaghan
Debbie Cameron
Suzie Lane and Vicki Cuskelly
Sieglind D’Arcy
Helen Thwaites and Peter Gray
Helena Hrovatin
Margaret and Peter Janssens
Kate Jorgenson and Lynda Napier
Robert Zouch King
Susan Laganza – in honour of Lili
Jane Munro – in memory of Philip Hearnshaw
Bernadette O’Leary – in memory of Phyllis Cecilia O’Leary
Blair Palese and Enrico Coiera
Wendy Parker
Timothy Pilgrim
Suzy Rea
Cecilia Rice
Richard and Barbara Roberts
Rueben Salinger
Sculthorpe Wind Quintet
Margaret Kenny Levick and Bill Southwood
Arn Sprogis and Margot Woods
Anonymous – 1

Key to Our Future Donors up to $500

Steven Alward and Mark Wakely
Anne Amigo
Tim Bass – in memory of Francesca Bass
Eva Berger
Michael and Judith Brimer
Barry & Jennie Cameron and Bernard & Diane Whyte
Lesley, David and Brett
Mark B Clark
Carol Cockburn & Don Dornan
Susan Connery
Philip & Mary Constable
Kath Copley
Manuela Darling
Michael Ebstein
John Farrow
Ross Feller and Clare Willington
Roy Garwood
Gudrun Lina Genee – in memory of E D Alcott
Sonja Drexler, Pat and Brian Gorman
Henry and Jane Grose
Anne Grundy
Sheila Hall – in memory of Michael Hall
The Hansen Family
Katrina Heding
Mocha the Cat and Kate – in memory of Bernard
Robin & Peter James – in memory of Vera James
Margaret and Colin Jevons
Dr Brian Jones and Gillian Jones
Judy & Dave Kelly and Chris & Isobel
Key Note Friends
Robin Large – in memory of Harold Amos and Nan Amos
Diana & Rob Laurie
Andrew Lloyd-James
Judy Lumby
Lucy Lytton
Jaqueline MacMahon – in honour of Bill MacMahon
Harry Magnusseson
Stewart & Wendy May
Wendy Millar
Carolyn Bethwaite
Elizabeth Moore
Sam, Ellie and Mimi Hall
Wendy and Mark
Ross and Louise Nicholas
Helen Parry
Peter Rosenfeldt and Anna Piatkowska – in memory of Beryl Rosenfeldt
Dr Edna Ross
Diane Shapcott
Rob and Jane Southey – in memory of Neilma Gantner
Annette Steel
Graham Stewart
Roger & Anh-Thu Stuart
Cate Thompson – in memory of Pat Thompson
Jennifer Turpin
Terry and Janette Tydd
Erin Frances
Morna Whiting
Bernard and Diana Whyte
Tony Willsallen and Gabriel Melick – in memory of Philip Hearnshaw Anonymous – 4

Key to Our Future Donors up to $100

Stuart Absalom and Philip Mawer
Merlin Baker
Robyn Bedford
Carolyn Bethwaite
Robin Brown and Tieke Atikh
Elizabeth and Sam Clement
Susan and Neil Clutterbuck
Lara Crew
Max Faber – in memory of Neilma
Hallie and Corinne Fernandez – Markov
Dianne Gambell
Karin Garrety
Naino Groen
Barbara Taylor Hingston – in memory of Darling Neilma
Mary and George Hogge
Andy and Meredyth Howard
Angela Keith – in memory of Wilhelm Kempff
Maureen Lavis & Stephen Parker
David Lowe and Debbie Angus
Liz McDonald
Jane Moxon – in honour of the Local Yuin People
Joanne and John Nairn
Liz and Stewart Needham
Patti Nicholson
Robin and Guy Pease
Shoalhaven Friends
Heather Robins
Karen & Bob Rudd
Sarah Ryan
Robin Sevenoaks
Alina Skoutarides
Mary Stevens
Muriel Story Edwards
Margo Sturgess
Anonymous – 1
Anonymous Gold Coin Donations

Sound Shell Campaign

Visionaries who together created Nature’s Concert Hall

Four Winds Nature’s Concert Hall is a world-class performance venue set in beautiful bushland 10 minutes drive south of Bermagui in New South Wales. It includes the state of the art Sound Shell, the mainstage of the Four Winds Easter Festival, and the Windsong Pavilion, a purpose built, acoustically designed recital hall and creative working space. Together they provide an extraordinary cultural development for the region and the nation.

We are extremely fortunate to have a group who gave their time and their expertise to bring this major undertaking to fruition. They are:

Sound Shell: Architect – Philip Cox of Cox Richardson
Windsong Pavilion: Architect – Clinton Murray
Project Mangers: Bill Caldicott and Bill Southwood

We are also grateful to those funding bodies who supported this ambitious project:

Carrillo Gantner and the Four Winds Foundation
Arts NSW and the Regional Development Australia Fund (RDAF)

We particularly wish to recognise the contribution of the Four Winds voluntary Board but particularly the following members who lead on this project:

Sheena Boughen – Chair
Don Moffatt
Sian Morgan Hall

Many individuals made generous financial donations to help make Nature’s Concert Hall a reality. The following donated in excess of $1,000 to support the development of the Sound Shell. We thank them for their vision and commitment:

Betty Amsden OAM
Joanna Baevski
Carolyn & Mark Bethwaite
Eva Berger
In honour of Rob Benson, music lover
The Bate Family
Manuela Darling-Gansser and Michael Darling
In Memory of Malcolm Dawe
Lynne Davis & Patrick Healy
Ashley Fuller and Bruce Leaver
Cary & Rob Gillespie
Ziyin and Carrillo Gantner
Mrs Neilma Gantner
Sian Morgan Hall, Nigel Hall and Family

Mr & Mrs J A Hancock
Katrina Heading and Robert Tacheci
Genevieve Lacey
Carol Ladd
Diana & Rob Laurie
Evelyn and Ian Levy
Jenny and Jack Monro
Sayaka Mihara and Cliff Wallis
Cecilia Ng and Don Moffatt
Marigold Southey
Philippa and Robert Springall
André Tammes
Yulgibar Foundation

Other previous campaigns include

Composing the Future
Grow and Flourish
Symphony of Supporters

Upcoming events

What's On

Follow our

Never miss a beat
Subscribe to our socials
Be the first to know about what's on

Sign Up For

Copy link
Powered by Social Snap